Comics

Comic Review: MRS. DEADPOOL AND THE HOWLING COMMANDOS #1

Writer: Gerry Dugan
Artist: Salva Espin
Colorist: Val Staples
Letterer: Joe Sabino
Publisher: Marvel
Release date: June 10th, 2015

I wasn’t going into Mrs. Deadpool And The Howling Commandos with a load of enthusiasm because some of the Battleworld tie-in issues are here or there. I’ve read a few that were superb and I’ve also had a few that were basically just “meh.” The art in Mrs. Deadpool is stunning. The backgrounds are extremely detailed and the characters are perfectly rendered. As for the book itself, it is very interesting, but not overly impressive.

My favorite bit is something that Gerry Dugan has had a lot of experience with in his Deadpool run with Brian Posehn: Deadpool’s snarky, condescending and hilarious narrarration.

The main highlight I have of this book is the team of Commandos. The team consists of Werewolf By Night (“All the powers of a werewolf.. at night.”), The Living Mummy (Waaaaay more exciting than any other kind of mummy.”), Frankenstein (“He’s always cool.”), Man-Thing (Let’s all be adults about his unfortunate name and appearance, okay? When he touches somebody, they burst into flames. That’s wicked cool.”) and Marcus The Minotaur With A Symbiote (“And of course, Dracula’s favorite centurian with an alien symbiote. A perfect warrior with no weakness.”). Oh yeah, did I mention the main antagonist of Mrs. Deadpool And The Howling Commandos is Dracula? Like The Dracula, and he’s a douche for sure. He orders Man-Thing (hahahaha) to incinerate The Invisible Man.

The main focus, and namesake of Mrs. Deadpool And The Howling Commandos is Shiklah, Deadpool’s main squeeze, who is also involved with Dracula, who killed her love. That’s right. Dracula actually figured out how to kill Wade Wilson and I’m not going to spoil it for you. After finding part of the Scepter of The Manticore, Shiklah decides to embark on a trip to hell. Dracula refuses to let her go alone and sends The Howling Commandos with her as she heads into the depths. The end… Until next time anyway.

Over all, I enjoyed the book but I was not totally blown away by it. There are a lot of funny moments, even a few that made me laught out loud, but it definitely hasn’t been my favorite Battleworld tie-in so far. I might check out issue #2 just to see where they go with the story. If not, I’ll give up on it most likely. There are a ton of Marvel books coming out every week to hold me over if I lose this.

Leave a Reply

