Comics

Comic Review: AIRBOY #1

Airboy_001_000Writer: James Robinson
Artist/Letterer: Greg Hinkle
Publisher: Image
Release date: June 3rd, 2015

Okay, when a comic is autobiographical in some sort, it could go either way. Usually, I would just let it go and not worry about it, but when James Robinson chose to lay his hands on Airboy, a reboot of a long out-of-print character of the same name, I was convinced that this might be something I would be interested in. I held back on Airboy #1, so I didn’t look at any previews or look up anything besides seeing the cover for the comic. I went into it with no idea what I was in for and I was absolutely blown away.

This comic is nothing like I thought it would be. I initially thought I was going to taken into a world of whimsy and bright colors and instead I am transported into the drug-fueled, nudity-stricken, very NSFW story of how Jimmie Robinson does NOT want to make an Airboy comic and how Greg Hinkle has no idea what he’s doing with Jimmie. The tale takes the two through an epic night of cocaine, heroine and booze which leads them to waking up, naked and face to face with the comics namesake: Airboy.

This book is brilliant and beautiful and it truly feels honest. You feel Robinson’s hatred for Airboy and you feel Greg’s confusion as to what the hell he is doing there in the first place. The book is very stark and dark, but I would recommend it to anyone I meet. Well, anyone over the age of 16 because, spoiler alert, there are penises and boobs galore. My favorite thing about Airboy #1 is the fact that the whole book is in shades of green, black and white. It creates a very deep mood that the book holds from cover to cover.

This book is definitely in the running for my favorite book of the year. Go out and buy a copy and then TRY to tell me I’m wrong. If you have any sense of humor at all, you’ll be hooked into Jimmie and Greg’s story and adventure and you’ll be dying to see what happens next. Hands down, my favorite part of the book is that it literally starts out with James Robinson sitting nude on a toilet, talking on the phone to Image Comics publisher Eric Stephenson and expressing his hatred for Airboy (“I fucking hate Airboy.”) It’s just a wonderful work.

Categories: Comics

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

